The department is looking after 48- State protected monuments / sites of archaeological / historical importance, which includes 28 in Jammu, 20 in Kashmir and 2 in Ladakh. After survey and identification monuments are declared as state protected within the meaning of Ancient Monuments Preservation Act of Samvat 1977 and conservation/preservation measures undertaken on need basis.

In addition, 69-Centrally protected monuments are looked after by the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), Srinagar Circle, Jammu.

The department has undertaken conservation work at number of protected monuments such as Bahu Fort Jammu, Hari Parbat Fort Srinagar, Bhimgarh fort Reasi, Moughal Sarai Chingus Rajouri, Ancient Temple Kothiar Anantnag,Mehjoor house Mitrigam Pulwama, Fort complex Jasrota Kathua,Mubarak mandi heritage complex , Mosque and Tomb of Madin sahieb Srinagar and Ancient temple Mamal Phalgam etc.